The I Ching Oracle

The I Ching, or as it is also known in English, Book of Changes, is an ancient Chinese system of divination. The oracle is one of 64 different hexagrams. Each hexagram is composed of six lines which are either straight (Yang) or broken (Yin).

To divine the hexagram, you will need three coins. Old Chinese bronze coins are not necessary - we can use their computer simulation.

Question the Oracle not more than once a day.

To visit the Oracle, click the  "Tools" Toolbar button or select "Tools" from the main menu, then select the  "I-Ching Oracle..." item. You will be transported to the Oracle's cave, whose closed door with its Yin-Yang emblem will appear in front of you.

Knock on the door (mouse click) if you see an invitation sign, otherwise you may visit the Oracle later (type Esc).

When the door opens, you will be taken to the Pool of Destiny, and the Oracle asks: "What brings you here, Stranger?"

Reflect and meditate on your question. Hold it in your mind. Write the question in the input field when it appears in due course, and press the Enter key.

Look, your question swims in the stream. When the Oracle says "Throw the coins, Stranger", press and hold down the left mouse button to toss the coins, remaining mindful of your question. When you feel the moment is right, release the mouse button. The red side of the coin is yang, the black side is yin. When the coins fall, depending on the yin and yang combinations, one of the six lines in the hexagram is generated.

Cast six lines, and the Oracle will reply.

If you are sincere, the answer will point to a new way of considering your issue, providing insight or advice that stimulates your intuition. If it offers a different, non-egoistic perspective that supports greater clarity or objectivity, it has done its job. If it provides you with amazingly accurate advice, it has outdone itself once again!

Offer a Thank-you to the Oracle when you have read his answer, and close the window.

Rules of hexagram generation:

The yin (black) side of a coin corresponds to 2 points and the yang (red) side to 3 points. The total number from three coins, therefore, will be between 6 and 9. Here are the meanings of these combinations:

Value  Meaning          Line
 6    moving Yin     Broken line with point
 7    Yang           Straight line
 8    Yin            Broken line
 9    moving Yang    Straight line with point

The main hexagram is read without moving lines, i.e. as if 6 were a 7, and as if 9 were an 8.

Then remember to read the line explanations for any moving lines.

If there are moving lines, draw a second hexagram by 'ageing' the moving lines, i.e. a moving Yin line (6) becomes a Yang line, and a moving Yang line (9) becomes a Yin line. Read this hexagram concerning the 'future'.